Great Grandparent Moments, Installment I

Never in my life did I ever expect the name ‘Professor Pippy Pee-Pee Poopypants’ to emerge from my mother’s mouth.

But last night, there it was—an uncensored stream of carefully scripted potty language coming from my dear, sweet Mom, whose alter-ego (Booger Burger Lips) seems awfully comfortable in the sophisticated literary world of one Captain Underpants.

I’m having a little trouble picturing either of my grandmothers being as willing as my mother was to read Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants in front of a live, dinner-time audience of children and grandchildren. But perhaps I underestimate the extent of their grand-motherly devotion. They certainly were willing to watch the championship-grade cheesy Land of the Lost program with me, and that’s really saying something.

As you might have guessed, Mom’s little read-aloud stunt scored big with my kids. I suspect that a public recitation of Walter, the Farting Dog can’t be far behind; I’d better get my recorder ready.

Thank you, Dav Pilkey, for creating a bridge between the generations, even if it does connect through the bathroom window.

Got any moments you’d like to share?
Please, send ’em my way—I’d love to read ’em!

2 Comments

  1. Sybil said,

    February 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Sorry I missed you yesterday; Thursday is bridge-club day.

    My grandparent moment involves gardening with my Grandfather. He had a little place on a hill where we grew fruits and veggies. It was hard work but I have very fond memories of those times.

    • scheirmad said,

      February 27, 2009 at 11:39 am

      Hey Sybil,

      I missed you, that’s for sure. What is it about grandfathers and gardens? I had a grandfather whose entire front yard was a garden, and a grandfather-in-law who also had a garden on a hill. Oh, the strawberries–loved ’em!

      -Scheir M.


Leave a Reply

