Thankful Thursday – 3/19/09

shampoo_5401I am so thankful for National Public Radio–really! Just today I heard stories about the anti-shampoo movement (known as “No Poo,” it advocates once per week–or less frequent–hairwashing and eschews conventional, plastic packaged shampoo), singer Elvis Perkins (son of Psycho star Tony Perkins, and the gloomy troubadour that I think I always wanted to be), and Senator John Lewis’s annual Civil Rights pilgrimage to Selma, Alabama–one of the hearts of the American Civil Rights Movement.

Home run today, Morning Edition. I laughed, I cried, I reflected on the consequences of racism, and I considered the relationhip between my personal appearance and the sustained health of the environment…all before 9 am.

I’m also thankful to Andie for suggesting that Thankful Thursday postings appear on both the Scheir Madness Thankful Thursday page and the blog’s main body. Good friends are certainly a lot to be thankful for!

2 Comments

  1. Andie said,

    March 19, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    I’m thankful you posted this to the main site! 😉

    Also thankful for friends, thankful tomorrow is Friday, thankful for adobe acrobat 8 professional, and thankful for accountants!

  2. scheirmad said,

    March 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Thankful Thursday supplemental: I’m thankful that schools stand up to bullies now. I’m so happy that kids don’t just have to suck it up and take it anymore! I’m also thankful for 3rd grader Steven who did a fantastic job sticking up for his friends at lunch today. Rock on, Steven!


Leave a Reply

