Scheir Madness – On the Radio!

tcw

I’m afraid you’ll have to wait until Friday for the next installment of “Scheir Madness.” That’s because I’ll be busy today talking to Char Binkley, of radio station WBCL’s Mid-Morning program. The program has a partnership with Today’s Christian Woman magazine, where my article, “Capable, Called…and Exhausted” has just appeared. At 9:30 this morning, Char and I will be talking (live on the radio!!) about my article’s topic: women who do too much.

It’s hard for me to believe that I’ll be on the radio giving “expert” advice, but if anyone knows about overdoing it, it’s me. In high school, I was the girl who freaked out so much about her schoolwork that the principal told me to play hooky once in a while. I’m the one who once set up tables and chairs for a missions dinner in the church gym almost singlehandedly—while I was pregnant. And I’m the one who used to think that you had to mulch the garden every time you expected visitors. Yup, that was me, but no more.

I know that tomorrow is Thankful Thursday, but I’m thankful today for the opportunity to share what I’ve learned from my perfectionist tendencies and my overachieving attitude. It has been exciting to see my article in print (it appears in TCW’s March/April issue—I can get you a copy if you’re interested). And I’m looking forward to the interview (it’s not a local Dover station, but you’ll eventually be able to listen on the station’s web archive at http://www.wbcl.org/programs/MidMorningTCW.asp; to listen click on “Click to Listen”—it’s today’s show, so give the station a little time post the recording).

Thanks everybody for your support and encouragement, and thank you, God, for showing me “the most excellent way” (1 Corinthians 12:31): that whatever any of us does is just noise if it doesn’t have the key ingredient, love.

8 Comments

  1. GIARC said,

    March 25, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Great interview!

  2. Lorraine said,

    March 26, 2009 at 5:21 am

    He would! I’d love to read the article. Is on-line?

  3. GIARC said,

    March 26, 2009 at 8:52 am

    You can find the online version of the article here:

    http://www.christianitytoday.com/tcw/2009/marapr/capablecalledexhausted.html

  4. Andie said,

    March 26, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    You go girl!

  5. scheirmad said,

    March 26, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Thanks everybody!!!

  6. Monica said,

    March 27, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    I haven’t read the article yet, but I’m very pleased to see that you are doing so well!

  7. Monica said,

    March 27, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Just listened to the show and you did a fabulous job!

    • scheirmad said,

      March 28, 2009 at 4:40 pm

      Thanks, Monica! It was actually a lot of fun!


Leave a Reply

