Thankful Thursday – I’m Thankful for Accessible Art

biggs-museum1I enjoyed 2 wonderful art experiences yesterday. The first was the Art & Poetry reception at the Biggs Museum in Downtown Dover. This very casual and low-key event (the best kind of event, in my opinion) featured readings of poems inspired by pieces in the museum collection; all but one poem was presented by its author. One of the poems presented was based on this Frank E. Schoonover painting, entitled “The Pirate.” My son who, as you may know, is a budding poet himself, attended the reading/reception with me, and gave positive reviews on every piece. The poets were so gracious to speak with him and to encourage him in his continued participation in and study of the arts.

Also wonderful was last night’s “Musical Jokes” concert, presented at Dover’s Schwartz Center for the Arts by ensembles of the Delaware Symphony Orchestra, along with the orchestra’s enchanting director, David Amado. My daughter attended with me, and we were happy to be seated accidentally beside a haiku poet from the Biggs reception of earlier in the day! Our favorite piece by far was the String Bass solo entitled “Failing,” which featured a scripted narration, read by the bass player…while he was playing. I also loved my first live hearing of “The Swan,” a heartbreakingly lovely accompanied cello piece which is absolutely heaven on earth.

So, today I’m thankful for accessible art–literal poems with visual connections and expertly played music with a sneaky sense of humor. What a wonderful way to enjoy with my children and to feed my own soul.

4 Comments

  1. Dan McDougall said,

    April 2, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I’m so touched that you enjoyed the concert. I hope we can play more like them for you at the Schwartz Center in the future.

    Dan McDougall (aka the “Failing” bass player from the DSO)

    • scheirmad said,

      April 3, 2009 at 6:13 am

      Thanks for your response, Dan. The Dover audience was thrilled to have you–what a nice way for us to get acquainted with you, David, and the other players! By the way, my daughter (she’s 8 years old) attended the concert with me, and she found your piece absolutely delightful and astonishing, as did I.

  2. Amy said,

    April 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    I am thankful that tomorrow is book club day! I love book club, and all the ladies that belong. They are a wonderful group of friends and I know that they’ll be just as happy to see me as I them, (even though I haven’t finished the book yet!!!).

    • scheirmad said,

      April 3, 2009 at 6:17 am

      Oh, yes, book club day!!! For those readers not in the group, this month’s selection was the bestselling book, The Shack. I won’t give away what I thought about it (want to save that for the meeting). But if you’re really curious, click on “Scheir M’s Current Reading List” (right over there in the column on the left)–if you’re a fan, though, you may not be happy. (Oops, did I just give it away?)

      If you’ve got your own review of the book, I’d love to read your thoughts (online, not ESP), so please comment!


Leave a Reply

