I’m Thankful For…My Magnet House

cookies

Today I’m thankful that my home has become a prime destination for the neighborhood kids!

This may be because (a) I serve afterschool snacks and (b) I enforce almost no rules.

Sure, our kitchen floor is often covered in mud. And our living room rug is often covered with Dungeons & Dragons set-ups (or Pokemon cards…or legos, legos, and more legos). And right now our backyard is recovering from the two giant holes that the kids went ahead and dug this week…in the rain (images of Goodfellas came to mind, but let’s not go there).

And it wasn’t so easy concentrating on dinner yesterday with 9 kids in my house, one of whom planted herself on a chair, then proceeded to pop the cork on our little wooden cork gun about 57 times in a row (if she really wanted to see my cork pop, she should have done it a couple more times). As hairy as it can be, though, having the kids over has kind of grown on me.

The children in my neighborhood are spunky (but not sassy), friendly (though not always cheerful), creative (if a little competitive), and usually willing to go along with bringing to life my kids’ latest duct tape, cardboard box, or sidewalk chalk fantasies. And, to date, none of them has broken a bone, gotten run over, or been eaten by wild dogs on my watch. Who could ask for more?

These good times may not last, but, for now, I’ll take the mud, clutter, and craziness, and, no matter how stressful it may be for me, I’ll try to keep my cork firmly in its place.

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    April 27, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Enjoy every moment of the mud, games, cork popping and cookie serving. Enjoy the laughter and creativity of kids who are having fun because in the blink of an eye they grow-up and it’s all gone. So enjoy it, revel in it and treasure it because girl you’ve got your priorities right!

    • scheirmad said,

      April 27, 2009 at 12:03 pm

      Hey Lorraine,

      Nice to have you back!! I was away this weekend (zip lining in Virginia) and talked to a wise mom with older kids about this–she told me the very same thing that you did!! Sure, I have to clean up the aftermath once in a while, but my kids will never be able to say that I stifled their creativity! Thanks for the thumbs up!

      Speaking of Virginia, on the way to my weekend away, I rode right past Washington DC, and I thought of you and your ’09 USA Sightseeing Plan. Interested?

      • Lorraine said,

        April 27, 2009 at 5:20 pm

        Oh yes. It’s getting closer! I have to ask what is Zip Lining?

  2. scheirmad said,

    April 28, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Oh, yes, zip lining…here’s a link to the camp that I visited; it has a video that’ll show you what zip lining is.

    http://sites.younglife.org/camps/Rockbridge/ActivityDetails.aspx?ID=10


Leave a Reply

