Thankful Thursday – Quirky Kids

140Lately, my daughter’s quirky comments have really made me smile.

Usually in the shadow of her clowning brother, 8-year-old Hayley is normally under the radar. But this morning, she put on her new glasses, combed her freshly (and drastically) cut hair, changed backpacks, and put together an outfit that’s not in her normal fashion milieu. Then she said, in all seriousness, “When I get to school, I bet no one will even recognize me! My teacher will probably introduce me as a new student!”

Also this week, Hayley masterfully covered up the fact that there was a Mother’s Day flower sale at school. I saw the flyer lying face-up on her backpack, but when I asked her (in code) whether that was something I needed to see, she non-chalantly and without giving anything away said, “No. It’s just something I need to discuss with Dad.”

That little rascal. I guess it’s better for me to know now what a good liar she is.

3 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    May 7, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Hayley’s comments gave me a laugh! During the week whilst patrolling on yard duty I started a conversation with a child from my class-turned out that I was, in reality, speaking to his twin! I have never muddled them up before so how embarrassing that my first time was the year that I’m actually teaching one of them! I did wonder if I was being conned but, alas, it ’twas the other boy and of course the story was known by most of my class by the end of lunch time. I was fielding the “Lorraine have we got a new student?” comments very skilfully with replies like “I just wanted to see if he was listening!” (Teachers love that one- it often comes in handy!)

  2. scheirmad said,

    May 8, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I love it!!!! What a great story!

    Also, you may not know this, but your Aussie-isms are really coming out–I’m going to have to start incorporating “yard duty” and “muddled” into my everyday conversation!

    I also like “whilst” and “’twas” but I’m chalking those up to literary finesse!

    -Cheryl

    • Lorraine said,

      May 8, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Yard duty is what us lucky teachers in South Oz get to do at lunch and recess (mid morning snack and play time) playtimes. At my school we have 8 teachers on duty at recess and 10 on at lunchtime! We are so lucky that we get to do 4 duties every week ( some schools with a smaller staff get to do 5 or even 6). Duties last for 20 minutes so it’s all of recess or half of lunchtime! As classes start at 8:35 am and lunch isn’t until 12:35 pm it is a VERY long stretch without a break on recess duty days!
      This yard time can be used to develop relationships with the kids. I often have children walk with me- sometimes it’s even because they want too, not because I’ve asked them to. Often students that I’ve taught visit to say hello and tell me what they’re up to. One lass I taught in Year 5 is now in Year 7 and has sprouted so much that she is now taller than me. She absolutely loves coming and standing next to me and patting my head or (oh the indignity of it) leaning on me! So I just look at her friends – most of whom I’ve taught and cry loudly, “Dannielle’s being mean to me!” They roll around laughing. Kids are great fun!


Leave a Reply

