Thankful Thursday is Goin’ “Down the Shore”!

Seaside Park postcardForgive the Jersey-ism you’re about to read, but I think I speak for the whole family when I say that we are so thankful to be goin’ down the shore tonight!! Yup, we’re playing hooky on Friday and scoring ourselves a four day weekend at the Osiecki family’s bungalow by the bay!

Now before you go on getting all jealous, please keep in mind that the bungalow is tiny. Like a two car garage tiny. And it’s crammed right in there, not 10 feet away from the bungalows next door. And there’s no cable…or satellite…or TiVo.

But, that’s OK, because you know what? What the bungalow’s got is comic books, crab traps, boogie boards, and a whole lot of memories. It’s got character, it’s got charm, and it’s got location, location, location. 2 blocks from the ocean, half a block from the bay–could it get better than that? Tennis courts around the corner, Surf Taco on the main drag, happy people kicking back and taking it easy–it’s got everything I’d ever need.

You’re not jealous now, are you?

Thanks Mom and Dad for keeping the place afloat. Thanks Linda, for watching Wesley (our dachshund) while we’re gone. Thanks kids, for walking with me even when your feet hurt. Thanks Craig, for making my place yours too. Most of all, thanks Grandpa, for carving out a vacation place for us–4 generations so far (Happy Birthday, by the way–we sure do miss you, man!).

6 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    May 21, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Have a great time away at the shore Cheryl and Family! 🙂 It is nice to have a place of your own where you like to vacation. My folks now have a little house in the Adirondacks and it is a lovely place to observe nature and have some peace and quiet. Not the best place in the winter…although I think they like it in any season. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Cheryl said,

      May 21, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      Thanks, Monica! I’ll be offline for a couple of days, but I’ll catch you next week!

      PS The Adirondacks sound (sounds?) WONDERFUL…

  2. Lorraine said,

    May 23, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Yes I am – jealous that is! Hope you have (had by the time you read this)a great break “down at the shore”. Hmmm …is there one about coveting thy neighbour’s beach shack? Maybe I’ll need to head “down to confession!” I really can’t “covet” can I? September is getting closer and closer! And (yes I know I shouldn’t start a sentence with it but it fits) in July holidays we are going down to the south-east of South Oz to a place called “Robe” and it’s the shore! It will be Winter so no swimming but I’m hoping for walks on the beach, shell collecting etc.

    • scheirmad said,

      May 26, 2009 at 8:31 am

      Hey Lorraine,

      Yes, we had a really great trip! The water was 58 degrees but Hayley swam anyway. We played skee ball and mini golf on the roof at the boardwalk, skim boarded on the beach, walked and walked, read and read, and watched an old Mission Impossible DVD (the kids loved it!!).

      Our favorite thing to collect is sea glass–which Craig believes is brought to our shores courtesy of a government sponsored “bottle boat” which, he says, dumps broken glass out to sea just so that, in time, vacationers like us will have something to collect.

      • Lorraine said,

        May 28, 2009 at 6:14 am

        Hey, Craig collected sea glass at Henley Beach when he was here. He also pointed out that what I thought were lumpy shells was actually a form of coral. I keep a look out for both treasures now! I’m very proud of my Port Jackson Shark egg sacs which I collected in early morning walks in Port Vincent. (Part of the shore to the north of us.)

      • scheirmad said,

        May 28, 2009 at 7:22 am

        Shark egg sacs sound cool!


Leave a Reply

