Who’s Your Favorite Book Character of All-Time?

flying booksHey, any of you book fans out there may want to ponder this one for the long weekend…

Literary agent Nathan Bransford recently posed the question on his blog: who is your favorite all-time character in a novel? (Answers from his readers can be found here.)

My favorites?
– Lee, the Chinese Servant from Steinbeck’s East of Eden
– Mr. Baer from Little Women
– Holden Caulfield (I know, I know…)
– Jughead from Archie (does he count?!?!)

I’m sure there are more, but I suddenly can’t remember any character from any other book I’ve ever read. What’s going on with that?

In any case, send me a comment with your answer–I’d love to know who your favorites are!

6 Comments

  1. Andie said,

    May 22, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Hazel from Watership Down…rabbits rule!

    • scheirmad said,

      May 26, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Darn, I read that one a looong time ago and don’t remember Hazel! I guess it’ll be on next year’s summer reading list!

  2. Craig said,

    May 26, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Ford Prefect from Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – he always knows where his towel is.

    • scheirmad said,

      May 26, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      Luckily I always know where Jake and Hayley’s towels are–on the floor, right?

  3. Monica said,

    May 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Since reading Catcher in the Rye in 10th grade, I’d have to say Holden Caulfield. I had my first real term paper to write and it involved symbolism, if I remember correctly. I truly identified with him at that point in my life.
    Harriet in Harriet the Spy I think was another favorite. I think I read that book at least 3 times when I was a kid.

    • scheirmad said,

      May 28, 2009 at 4:38 pm

      Have you read Catcher in the Rye recently? When I read it a couple of years ago, I realized that he was less attractive to me and more pitiful, mainly owing to my mom perspective. Still, it was a great read, and I really liked the rediscovery at a different point in my life.

      Sadly, I was no reader as a kid. I liked Archie and Ziggy. I hope I’ve made up for it since!


Leave a Reply

