The Countdown Begins…

number_5…as in 5 days to go until the school year is over!! Yup, in my neck of the woods, school gets out ridiculously early–my birthday is June 21st, and I can remember one or two years when I celebrated it in school!.

Still, I’m happy for the kids to have a break, and I’m happy that we’ll get some extra sleep every morning. Oh, and did I mention that I’m looking forward to spending more time together…at the pool! at the beach! in the backyard! Really, I am!

The first of the year and the last day of school are my resolution-making times; here’s my summer resolution for today:

Replace mom’s morning hot chocolate with strawberry banana smoothies for the whole family; for the not-yet-smoothie-savvy among us, here’s my favorite recipe.

In a blender combine all of the following ingredients: 1 large ripe banana (peeled and sliced), 1 cup washed strawberries (stemmed and hulled), 1 cup plain yogurt, 1/4 cup orange juice, 2 tablespoons honey; add 1/2 cup raspberries or peeled and sliced kiwis.

Feel free to substitute or add other fruits like blueberries, mangoes, or peaches, and to substitute pineapple juice for the orange juice. Emeril says it will work just as well–and it’s his recipe, so he should know!

Recipe for “Yummy Wake-Up Smoothies” from “Emeril’s There’s a Chef in my Soup! Recipes for the Kid in Everyone”

4 Comments

  1. Andie said,

    June 1, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    We could say “time is running out,” but that would be stress-inducing.

    • Cheryl said,

      June 2, 2009 at 9:40 am

      No, we’re staying positive. Think “about to blast off to new adventures” not “5 seconds left on ominous red digital readout attached to high powered explosive device.” Now that would be stressful.

  2. Monica said,

    June 1, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Thanks for the smoothie recipe. We love smoothies here and seeing that I have most of those ingredients, I’ll have to make some. šŸ™‚
    I’m looking forward to school letting out too…I look forward to not packing that extra lunch in the morning.

    • Cheryl said,

      June 2, 2009 at 9:41 am

      Yes, how is it that making a lunch is easier than packing one? I know…packing usually happens when I’d rather be sleeping.


Leave a Reply

