Still Counting Down…

Number 3…as in 3 days of school to go! Wahoo!!!

Today’s resolution is a simple one: Every other week I will get a babysitter and go out with my husband.

Yes, we are sadly in the dateless doldrums, which (believe me, everyone) is neither of our faults. We just don’t get around to going out that much. Or we’ve had such busy weeks that we just want to relax at home. Or the free night arrives and we realize that we’ve just not made arrangements.

So, today I resolve to make a standing appointment for someone (anyone?) to come to my house and hang out with my kids so I can get with my guy (my husband, that is) and see some part of the world that does not include our house, the public library, the grocery store, or Sam’s Club. We’ll explore strange new worlds (like the movie theater) and explore new civilizations (like the bowling alley). We’ll boldly go where no one has ever gone before without their kids (the local pool) and reconnect with each other after days spent in the frazzlement of industrial work and stay-at-home motherhood.

Who knows, maybe we’ll even have an uninterrupted conversation…that would be nice for a change, wouldn’t it?

3 Comments

  1. Craig said,

    June 3, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Sounds great! Count me in!

    • scheirmad said,

      June 3, 2009 at 10:11 am

      I’ve already e-mailed Kristin. Zippy’s here we come!

      See what it takes to get me committed to something?

  2. Andie said,

    June 4, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Every week, and the investment is well worth it. Standing sitter appointment baby!!!!


Leave a Reply

