One Last Day…

number 1…as in, today is the one and only day left in the Capital School District’s 2008-2009 academic year! Hip hip hooray!!!!

I resolve now to have a mentally healthy summer. I will end playdates before the children (and I) go off the deep end. I will hold onto my schedule gently but firmly. I will strike a good balance between fun and structure (too much of either is never a good thing).

I will water my plants every day. I will keep my pantry straight. I will set up a drying rack outside so that they bathing suits are never too wet for too long.

I will stock up on healthy snacks. I will turn off the engine when I’m stopped in the drive-thru.

I will buy less, socialize more, and try hard to stay in touch.

You wouldn’t think it would be this hard, would you?

6 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    June 5, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I find it very difficult to have structure and fun in the summer with both my sons. I think because it is out of the normal routine and we all want to relax a bit, but then get cranky since the structure isn’t there. I have a hard time making a schedule, when really that would help immensly. I’d love to get together this summer and it would be nice since Dominic will be in ALPHA program. 🙂 Yeah!

    • scheirmad said,

      June 6, 2009 at 8:00 am

      Yes, yes, yes…let’s get together. Road trip to the Franklin, right? Sometimes I find that a big adventure is just the thing to break up the monotony! Let me know when you’d like to go–I’ll be in and out in June, but maybe July? Plus if your guys are swimmers, we’d love to have you as guests to Kent Swim Club. Or we could just hang out…that’d work too!

      Yay, ALPHA! I’m glad that worked out for you!

      • Monica said,

        June 9, 2009 at 9:48 am

        July would work better for us too since we’ll be going up to NY this month for a week and Dominic starts digital photography camp next week at Del Tech. Thanks for the invite to swim….They both love the water. Dominic had lessons at the Y, but isn’t that strong a swimmer. Hanging out would be nice too.
        I’m feeling better about this long summer vacation already. 🙂
        Thanks for that!

  2. Lorraine said,

    June 5, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Yeah! You made it! It’s Saturday morning here so it must be after school Friday there! Have fun and enjoy the time with the kids!
    I haven’t started my “count-down” yet for either school Winter (July) break or Spring (October – at which time we’re taking a- longer- than-school- holiday- break) break yet but I have started the report writing countdown! (three down only 27 left to do!!)

    • scheirmad said,

      June 6, 2009 at 8:07 am

      Sounds like it’s time for one of those paper chain countdown crafts! Unfortunately, the time you’d spend making that could be better spent writing your 27 reports. Reality is cruel, yes?

  3. Cheryl said,

    June 9, 2009 at 9:57 am

    @Monica–
    Sounds good. Enjoy NY. We’ll stay in touch!


Leave a Reply

