Thankful Thursday – Hooray for Funky Food!

baking with beerI’m thankful today for successful food experiments! Last week the Kahlua chocolate cheesecake bars, this week (I’m not kidding) Crockpot Beer Cake.

This recipe was featured in my local paper in a story full of beer-themed recipes fit for our Dover Downs NASCAR weekend. I am not a fan of Dover Downs, NASCAR, or beer (not for or against, more like neutral), but how could a baker like me pass up the wierdness that is a cake made in a crockpot that’s got beer in it to boot?

So I brought the Crockpot Beer Cake (which took four and a half hours on high and was still hot from the crockpot!) to a picnic last night, and it was the “looks bad, tastes great” hit of the evening. Guests were hesitant until one of them said, “Is this another experiment?” and then they ALL dug in. Conspicuous food consumption for the sake of science–gotta love that. Drew blamed his goofy behavior on the beer, which amounted to a cup and a half, but he can go ahead and think what he wants, right?

Funny that the Beer Cake worked out so well, as I’ve recently been wishing that there was some new food out there that would blow the lid off of my monotonous food-making routine. To think it was in a six pack in the basement all along! Plus, now if I ever find myself tail-gating with an extra beer and available electric, I’ll be all set!

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    June 12, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    As food is one of my pleasures Ill have to agree to be thankful. I am also thankful that boy number 20 has settled into the class and school. Boys, interesting little critters that they are, are pretty much always welcoming to the new comers. The fact that 20 is really into soccer (as is half my class) has really helped. So one day last week he came in with a little tub of falafel – they were for me from his mum. They were delicious and much tastier than others that I’ve tried. My next new taste were little bite-sized delights which he tells me are called “kaleeher”. They are like a cross between biscuit and scone dough, rolled out and with dried fruit (or maybe a thick jam) put in ( I think it could be fig) then rolled up and pulled into little pieces. He told me they are for eating with tea or coffee but to be honest they are so yummy you don’t need the tea or coffee!!

    • scheirmad said,

      June 15, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      I’ve never had falafel…but it sounds really good! I’ll have to put it on my list of funky foods to try! This weekend with my parents I enjoyed some Polish meatballs (?!), some Polish Water Ice (like Italian ice, if you know what that is), and some AMAZING cinnamon bread (that, to my knowledge, was not at all Polish). My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

      • Lorraine said,

        June 16, 2009 at 8:18 am

        Yep! Gelati is big down here but the Italian community claim it! The cinnamon bread sounds delicious too.

      • scheirmad said,

        June 16, 2009 at 11:54 am

        That’ll be 2 more experiences on the itinerary for your visit in the fall!


Leave a Reply

