Fine, Kids…You Were Right.

overloaded_bikeOn the blackboard in my dining room there’s an index card which reads as follows: “Mom and Dad are NOT stupid. Signed, Hayley Scheir. 8/2/08.”

When my then 7-year-old daughter pronounced her recognition of her parents’ intellectual savvy, I urged her to write it down, knowing full well that in a couple of years her opinion might have a tendency to change. What I didn’t realize is that it would take less than a year for my children’s common sense to trump my own.

Just today, in fact, the kids and I took a bike ride to the local library (which, darn it, has almost none of the books on my personal summer reading list, but never mind about that). By some miracle, I remembered to bring my overdue book, my card catalog cheat list, all three of our library cards, and the key for the bike lock. What I didn’t remember was a bike trailer for the 30 books and 8 DVDs that, for the next three weeks, are now ours.

The way I look at it, books are like fruit, and if a kid wants a banana there’s no way I’m saying “no.” For our family, the library represents the home of the ultimate on-the-cheap shopping spree, where there’s no money spent and no buyers’ remorse.

Problem is, books can also be like that big screen TV that you bought that’ll only fit into your Honda Accord sedan by some miracle of modern particle physics.

Needless to say, on the flip side of our visit, we found ourselves seriously cramming our library booty into the one and only messenger bag I’d worn on my back. “Keep cramming,” I said, “The books will fit, I tell you!!” But the children said, “No, Mom, get a plastic back from the librarian!” And I said, “No, there’s space for at least 3 more books in this hidden flap pocket!! And we can put these 8 books in my handlebar pouch! And you can put these 5 movies in your handlebar pouch! We can do it!!” And finally the kids grabbed my shoulders, shook me, and said, “Mom…stop!! We’re getting a plastic bag!!!”

Luckily we didn’t have to stop too many times on the way home, because with that bag across my shoulder I nearly tipped over every time I put my weight on one of the pedals. Yup, halfway home Hayley said it, “See, Mom, someday you’ll say, ‘My children were right.'” And I said, “Kiddo, today’s the day.” And as I wove back and forth down the road, the load shifting wildly around my center of gravity and the messenger bag strap becoming more and more a permanent part of my upper body anatomy, all I could add was, “I was wrong! I was horribly wrong!!!”

7 Comments

  1. Andie said,

    June 15, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    You got a big screen tv?

    • scheirmad said,

      June 15, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      Well, no…but our 27″ TV is big compared to its 13″ predecessor (now Jack Bauer’s head is as big as mine!!!!), and we had to bring that home boxless.

      • scheirmad said,

        June 15, 2009 at 3:58 pm

        By the way, that would be the 27″ TV we got like 4 years ago!

  2. Lorraine said,

    June 16, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Books, books, books! Sounds just like a trip to the Library with my kids when they were young. We used to go a couple of days a week after school too because the Children’s librarian, Naomi, knew the kids by name (along with a few others) so she started some great after-school activities for them. great fun and all for free!

    • scheirmad said,

      June 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

      Fun and free are fantastic, as are educational, enriching, and energizing! If you had told me 5 years ago that my children would hole up in their respective reading nooks for three hours after a trip to the library, I would have NEVER believed you!! No mother could ever say, “Quit that reading, you kids!!”

  3. Terri Moore said,

    June 16, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hahahaha. Been there girlfriend! Never on a bike, but I just can’t say no at the library. Ask me about the time I was so wrapped up in getting the books in the van that I forgot a kid.

    • scheirmad said,

      June 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

      Oh my! Do they charge a fine for that?!?!!


Leave a Reply

