Captain’s Blog

Captain Kirk

Since Friday’s family visit to the Star Trek Exhibition (currently on display at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia) I’ve had this most disturbing realization:

I am a trekkie.

I believe it was when the words, “The Grand Negus’s suit—awesome!” came out of my mouth that I knew I had crossed over. It was either that or when a nearly photographic mental cataloging of Deanna Troi’s rising and falling hairdos, necklines, and hems started running through my head. Or maybe it was when I spotted the words ‘Utopia Planitia’ on the reproduction engineering island and actually knew what they meant.

Even now, I’m sitting here thinking, “Of course Data’s brother is Lore, but everyone knows that!” If everyone does know that, then I’m still like everybody else. If not, then I’ve got a one-way ticket to the Delta quadrant.

Beam me up, Mr. Scott.

I think my trekkie-dom was solidly confirmed when I looked back on my college career and realized that I’d spent 7-8 pm every Saturday night watching Star Trek: The Next Generation with my boyfriend (guess who?). Then it was confirmed again, last week, when I found myself giving the children a Star Trek movie crash course the day before the exhibition (the pop-culture illiteracy…tragic!). Then at the exhibit, it was confirmed yet again, when I started explaining to another family that the odd Star Trek movies are bad and the even ones are good…you get the idea.

While I may be a superfan, I do not speak Klingon. I don’t know the year of Captain Kirk’s graduating class. I do not know Leonard Nimoy’s hat size. I have not and never will dress in a Star Trek uniform, although I did have a very good approximation of one (courtesy of Talbot’s—not bought by me) back in the ’90’s .

I’m not redecorating my house a la the Starship Enterprise, and I’m not taking spins around town in my homemade version of Christopher Pike’s motorized wheelchair. I’m not showing up for jury duty in a Star Trek uniform, and I’m not going to a Trek-themed dentist.*

However, considering my self-realizations, I will no longer laugh at the people who do.

Well, maybe just a little.

*all from the documentaries Trekkies and Trekkies 2, by the way. Watch ’em, but keep your inhaler ready!

2 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    June 25, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Live long and prosper. My sons were (still are) into the Trekkie experience and I have to say that I impressed then for a brief bright moment when they discovered that I had been a Trek fan right from the first episode shown down here in south Oz!! It was a hard task to get to watch as mum and dad were not into that “science-fiction rubbish” and couldn’t see any reason why the kids should be either. Oh, I did like Mr Spock’s ears. They were so decorously different!

    • scheirmad said,

      June 29, 2009 at 9:13 am

      Ah, I’m learning more about you every day! Craig is more of a Trekkie than I (when I met him he could name every original Star Trek episode title in chronological order).

      Thankfully, catching the children up on Star Trek is less treacherous than trying to catch them up on the life of Michael Jackson!


Leave a Reply

