My Favorite Words…and more!

doug henning

    Prestidigitation – sleight of hand
    Fabulist – an author of fables
    Happenstance – a random event
    Indubitably – undoubtedly
    Penumbra – a partial shadow
    Zoroastrianism – religion and philosophy based on the teachings of Zoroaster
    Personification – attribution of human traits to non-living objects
    Bumbershoot – a humorous term for an umbrella
    Megalomaniacal – exhibiting traits of megalomania, a mental illness whose symptoms include delusions of greatness and wealth
    Caricature – exaggeration by means of ludicrous distortion of characteristics

    My new favorite annual plant: marigold

    My favorite punctuation mark: semi-colon

    My favorite traffic light color: green

    My favorite popsicle: chocolate éclair

    My favorite secret ingredient: lemon juice

    My favorite bagel: salt (yeah, baby)

    My favorite dual-use name for a color and a vegetable: aubergine (aka eggplant)

    My favorite version of Elvis: Vegas pantsuit Elvis (seriously!)

    My favorite news story of today: well, not much good news out there. Bizarrely coinciding celeb deaths (or just happenstance?), megalomaniacal government actions, the personification of greed—oh, if it could all be disappeared by the power of prestidigitation!

    A fallen world we’re living in? Indubitably.

12 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    June 29, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    My class has a “favourite thing” this year – it is the new words we’ve been developing! Our fav so far is “binable” – yes folks, that dried up remnant of the bottle of glue was definitely “binable”. It’s a lovely wotd and just rolls off the tongue!

    • Cheryl said,

      June 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      Hmm…never heard of ‘binable.’ I’m running for my pocket OED now!

      • Lorraine said,

        June 30, 2009 at 8:23 am

        Now what’s an OED?

      • Cheryl said,

        June 30, 2009 at 8:26 am

        OED = Oxford English Dictionary. My pocket edition is about 2 inches thick. The non-pocket edition is like 20 volumes (my sister has 2 volume set that comes with a magnifying glass! It’s great for obscure words–and for word games!

  2. Andie said,

    June 29, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Favorite punctuation: the ellipsis

    Favorite new word:

    Honorificabilitudinitatibus–longest word in shakespeare, means “the state of being able to achieve honours”

    • Cheryl said,

      June 30, 2009 at 7:20 am

      Long words are fun, aren’t they? Somehow, though, I’m having trouble imagining ‘honorificabilitu…’ rolling elegantly off of anyone’s tongue. Perhaps I’ll try to incorporate it into the meeting summary I’m working on. Also, notice my incorporation of the ellipsis!

  3. Monica said,

    June 30, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I remember watching the show with the guy you have pictured…can’t remember his name though, do you? Marigolds are quite stinky, but they do hold up well in DE as well as keep pests away from other plants (just in case you didn’t know. 🙂 I’m impressed with the aubergine comment. After living in the UK I got to know many alternate names for vegetables and herbs. They like to think that the names are very British, but in fact have French origins I’m sure. 🙂 Just dont tell them that. I like the name for zucchini (courgette).

    • Cheryl said,

      June 30, 2009 at 10:07 am

      That would be Doug Henning (I fear that I am now showing my age in knowing that so readily!).

      If the marigolds keep away mosquitos, then I’m all for them!

      When I was in Bulgaria, I noticed that their menus listed ‘aubergine’ (or some Cyrillic version of that) rather than ‘eggplant.’ Interesting the differences, isn’t it?

      Got a favorite word?

      • Monica said,

        June 30, 2009 at 9:14 pm

        Thanks for the memory jogger. 🙂 Don’t even remember much about the show Doug Hennig was in…I do remember the wacky, shiny, tight fitting jumpsuits though. It reminds me of the other show Mr. Goodbody. Do you remember that one? The guy who wore the suit with all the internal organs on it.

        Don’t think that marigolds keep away mosquitos. I think it is mostly pests of the garden variety.

        Favorite sounding words for me seem to be of the spanish variety like jalepeno or tomatillo. They are just fun to say.

      • scheirmad said,

        July 1, 2009 at 9:29 pm

        Wasn’t Doug Henning everywhere in the ’70’s? I guess when you have three networks, one Muppet Show appearance means worldwide fame!

    • Craig S. said,

      June 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      I went to England about 10 years ago and was taken to lunch at a caffeteria style place. I saw zucchini and asked for it by name. The lady had no idea what I was talking about. My host helped me to figure out that they called them courgette (although I thought I heard “crochette” from them). I realized that I was not in Kansas (or anywhere near Kansas) anymore. Funny how we can be speaking the same language, but then run into a dead end so quickly.

      • scheirmad said,

        June 30, 2009 at 4:36 pm

        This oddly reminds me of the time that my sister asked Hayley if she wanted any macaroni and pasta girl Hayley had no idea what she was talking about. Oh my.


Leave a Reply

