Thankful Friday?!?!

uturn

I’m a day late for Thankful Thursday. So sorry.

I’m having one of those weeks where every day is getting away from me. I’m swamped with work (thankful for that), swamped with activities (also, thankful), and swamped with celebrating a birthday this weekend that’s as epic as the Apollo 11 moon landing (my husband too, is turning 40, and, yes, I’m so very thankful for him).

One thing I’m especially thankful for is the great girls night I had on Wednesday. By ‘girls,’ I mean my daughter’s eight- to eleven-year-old friends, who’d congregated at my house in hopes of a sleepover. Boy, were they in for much, much more!

First, I offered to take them to the local pool…which turned out (after our 20 minutes of dressing, sunscreening, and towel fetching) to be CLOSED because of a mechanical problem. We turned around to go home, but on our way there the girls suggested a state park pool (travel time: another 20 minutes), which turned out, upon our arrival, to be closing in 15 minutes. We turned around again, and, desperate to drag victory from the jaws of defeat, I suggested dinner at the Sonic drive-in (cheers!!!), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Movie Night (applause!!!), popcorn, s’mores, and, yes, even a sleepover (hysterical delight!!!).

The girls and I had a super-fun time, owing in part to the convenient absence of my son at another sleepover across town. Yes, the girls were up until 11 making scary jumping and crashing noises in my daughter’s bedroom, but I didn’t care. Emergency room potential or not, saving that night was an amazing mom moment for me.

And now, after saving, I’m savoring.

5 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    July 24, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Cheryl- you are too cool of a mom. 🙂 I don’t know if I could have shown that much stamina. 🙂 Glad you all had a great time despite the setbacks. Hope you have a great weekend and get a breather.

    • Cheryl said,

      July 25, 2009 at 7:52 am

      Thanks for saying that–‘cool’ is definitely one of my mom goals! When we found out that pool #2 was about to close, I told the kids that I didn’t think crying and kicking the car would be appropriate in front of them. They enjoyed envisioning me doing that.

      I often tell the kids, “Don’t make a bad thing out of a good thing.” I’m glad that we can pull off the “Make a good thing out of a bad thing” as well!

  2. Andie said,

    July 24, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Happy birthday to Craig!!!!

    • Cheryl said,

      July 25, 2009 at 7:49 am

      Thank you on his behalf! Last night was our birthday weekend kick-off: corn on the cob, burgers, Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix, and a very happy trip to Zippy’s Ice Cream Cafe (yummy and reasonable–have you been?)

      More birthday surprises to come…keep your fingers crossed!

  3. Craig S. said,

    July 27, 2009 at 8:39 am

    I just want to report that this was the BEST BIRTHDAY WEEKEND EVER! Thanks especially to Cheryl and the kids and good friends who love me very much. You all Rock. You know who you are.


Leave a Reply

