Reasons I love the Brunswick Doverama

bowling shoes

1. With the Brunswick Doverama’s special certificate, kids can bowl one free game (with shoe rental) per kid per day for the whole summer.

2. There’s a 99 cent game special for everyone, all day on Tuesdays.

3. You can tell by the name that just adding ‘rama’ to the end of ‘Dover’ suddenly makes it sound really fun and bowling-ish.

4. Bumpers. LOOOOVE the bumpers. Gutters equals scary, bowling ball magnet and sad zero-scoring children. Gutters bad…bumpers good.

5. Thanks to the indoor smoking ban, bowling no longer necessitates intense laundering session to wash cigarette stink from my favorite summer clothes.

6. They may be rented, but I really dig bowling shoes. I even considered buying a pair to wear in my everyday, non-bowling life. They’re so funky and retro–I love ’em!

7. For 2 bucks in quarters, you can feed your children a candy lunch using only the coin op jaw breaker dispensers in the lobby.

8. Electronic scoring–with velocity tracking–how awesome is that? Now I can verify that little Jaki Farley’s ball really WAS going down the lane at .5 mph.

9. Cosmic bowling–at noon! The lights go down, the disco lights come up, the bad ’80’s music videos come on, and the party, my friend, has started!

10. This past Tuesday I bowled 7 strikes in 2 games–3 of them in the 10th frame of game 1. And no, they weren’t because of the bumpers. Call me a turkey if you will; I will wear the name with pride.

4 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    July 31, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    It is so funny that you wrote about bowling and the Bruswick Doverama. 🙂 I used to bowl there when I was a kid and was even on a league. 🙂 Have my own purple bowling ball with my name on it and some powder blue Dexter brand shoes. 🙂 I took my kids bowling this past Monday and we bowled for free! Dominic joined their report card club (you get a free game for each A) and in addition to that cool free game a day for the summer card, we got 2 games free for all 3 of us and free shoe rental- thought Douglas’ wouldn’t be free but they were. The only thing I paid for was 50 cents for skittles candies on the way out. All that for two hours or so of fun (once the bumpers were put up that is). 🙂 Perhaps we’ll have to go bowling after our lunch date?

  2. Cheryl said,

    July 31, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Bowling after Jake’s sounds fun! My skill is most erratic, so promise not to laugh!!!! And, yes, bumpers up!!

  3. Lorraine said,

    July 31, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Our local bowl gives kids discount vouchers for the holidays but they are still quite expensive especially for families with a few kids. I think free sounds MUCH better!
    We used to have a local fruit shop called Bananarama. It just sounded like such a great place to get your fruit! The it was taken over by a chain and turned into Fresh Fruit – just didn’t have the same allure!

  4. Cheryl said,

    August 1, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Yes, FREE is unbelievable to me. It really does bring in the business!

    Bananarama is a great name! It’s a shame it went away!

    When I was a kid I used to watch a show called Wonderama–the rama’s just about, don’t they?


Leave a Reply

