Thankful…but not really sure why

wrongwaygoback0197I’m thankful today for the bizarre brain glitch which on Tuesday caused me to make a wrong turn in familiar territory, sending me 10 miles north on a road from which I had just come 10 miles south, with no opportunities to correct my error until I got to exactly the point from which I’d originally started.

Rather than dwell on the similarity of my mental aptitude to an invertebrate, unicellular creature, I’d rather focus my (apparently) limited intellectual abilities on this Bible verse, from James 4:6–

“God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”

2 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    August 15, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Cheryl aren’t we both lucky that we live in countries where we have the freedom and means to drive along the roads – even if we are going in the wrong direction! What an incredible gift to be thankful for!
    My class is running a school assembly on Monday (stress, stress, stress!) and we always start with our national anthem. One of the boys is going to introduce it and he wrote .. “Let’s remember how lucky we are to be living in a country like Australia by singing …”. Your post and my 10 year old have a lot in common.

  2. scheirmad said,

    August 16, 2009 at 10:02 am

    You know, freedom to drive on roads is something to be thankful for! I’m glad you’re reminding me of this, especially since my drive back from the Delaware shore yesterday was riddled with slow pokes who just would not move to the slow lane!! What’s funny is that our family frustration with the pokey drivers really lightened our cranky, exhausted mood!

    There’s always a silver lining, isn’t there?


Leave a Reply

