Thankful for my digital camera

During a week of galloping insecurity during which I broke the thingie on my van door that allows it to close (while trying to fix said thingie, by the way), I found myself joyfully accepting a vase of sunflowers from friends who love me (they really do love me!!!!) and who don’t care whether I broke the stupid door or sent them a Facebook version of the swine flu or have let my backyard “go” to the point that we are now weeding it by hand.

No, they gave me these fun flowers, and I multiplied the fun by taking this photo—

Sunflowers

…and turning it upside down to look like this—

Sunflowers upside down

I think I have a new trademark.

8 Comments

  1. Jeff Rakes said,

    August 20, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    bottom one looks like a Sesame Street Character 🙂

    • scheirmad said,

      August 21, 2009 at 8:05 am

      I know…isn’t that funny? Is there a muppet out there in everything?!!

      Thanks for chiming in, Jeff!

  2. Lorraine said,

    August 20, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I can fully understand why the sunflowers cheered you up – they are such cheerful looking flowers! Our kids used to sing a song (by an American called Carey Landry) about sunflowers. It went ..”Like a sunflower follows every movement of the sun, so I turn towards you, to follow you, my God.” The kids (not just ours but the group) would do a Liturgical Dance to it as thanks giving after communion and the congregation loved it! Yep, sunflowers just make people smile!
    And look on the bright side.. you only broke the door thingy and sent a virus…I nearly sent two of the class tadpoles down the drain! I think the class has been a bit enthusiastic with feeding and the aquarium water went somewhat green and horrible so I set up a temporary home for them and transferred them into it. Thought I had them all..truly I did! Luckily some of the kidlets were paying more attention to what I was doing than the work they were supposed to be completing because as I struggled with said aquarium to the sink and began tipping out the water anguished wails were emitted from aforementioned students who with younger eyes had spotted two small taddies lurking in the murky depths of the aquarium! Needless to say I covered myself by carefully explaining that the said taddies were being difficult to catch and I was tipping out some of the water in order to catch them! Whole class relaxed and went back to their work! Situation saved!

    • scheirmad said,

      August 21, 2009 at 8:10 am

      Oh to have the grace and quick wit of a teacher like you!!!

      Funny that yesterday Hayley said, “Now the door won’t open,” and, after Craig investigated he said, “Hmmm. The child safety switch was turned on. I wonder why.” Um, that would have been my doing as well. Sorry all.

      At least no lives were lost (or nearly lost) in the repairing of the door.

      Amen to sunflowers! Your sunflower song reminds me of that line in the old hymn, “Come thou fount” that says, “Tune my heart to sing thy praise!” What wonderful sentiments to start the day!

  3. Craig S. said,

    August 21, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Re: child safety switch – when I fixed the door (the first time) I made sure the child safety switch was in the correct (unlocked) position. Someone was “looking” at it *after* I fixed it. Hummmm.

  4. Cheryl said,

    August 21, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Hmm is right. Gremlins, perhaps?!?! Fairies? Wesley?!!!!!

    • Lorraine said,

      August 21, 2009 at 5:40 pm

      Wow, those Muppets really get up to mischief, don’t they?

      • Cheryl said,

        August 22, 2009 at 12:45 pm

        Right! It was the MUPPETS who did it!!!


Leave a Reply

