Thankful that stickers still do the trick

Smiley_Face_Gang_Logo

Last week I received my umpteenth correspondence from Highlights for Children, and in it I found the key to my start of the school year success: stickers. My children, despite being ages 11 and 9, think that stickers are corny and dorky, but they’re still accepting them as a reward for a pleasant morning going “to” and a pleasant afternoon coming “from” school. They rolled their eyes at me when I held out the sheet and told them each to pick one…but pick they did, and they’re sticking them on notebooks, box lids, electronics—you name it (just not shirts or skin—gosh, Mom, so gauche).

The way I figure it, one sheet of multicolored funny faces should last us about two weeks. That’s sure more economical than giving them money, more healthy than giving them cookies, and less demanding than any other rewards system I could think of.

Perhaps I should start rewarding myself in stickers. Crazy enough to work.

6 Comments

  1. Craig S. said,

    August 27, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Great idea. Give yourself one thousand points and kiss your brain!

    • scheirmad said,

      August 27, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      Thank you!!!!

  2. Monica said,

    August 28, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Craig,
    That is too funny. I do remember the kiss your brain phrase from Dominic’s kindergarten teacher.

    Cheryl,
    Thanks for the sticker idea. I sure could use something to get Dominic being more pleasant after school. He could have used one this morning too. I have to keep telling myself that the first few weeks are difficult with the new school routine.

    • scheirmad said,

      August 30, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      I also love awarding points in the supermarket. The points don’t really mean anything, but they sure do get results!

  3. Lorraine said,

    August 28, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    As a primary (8 – 11year olds) teachers I truly believe in the magical power of stickers! It can not be disputed – teachers have anecdotal evidence proving the magical qualities of stickers. Ooh ….maybe I could get funding for a Phd… observing and recording, collecting the empirical data …I could prove the magicalness of stickers!

    • scheirmad said,

      August 30, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      I just googled ‘sticker magicalness’ and see that it is a most unexplored field of study. What a groundbreaker you are! Call Bill Gates and GET THAT GRANT!!!!


Leave a Reply

