Thankful for our friends down under

kangaroo

Gobsmacked.

That about describes it. And I’m not being cheeky here.

I was expecting good things when my friends Dieter and Lorraine blew in from Flinders Park, Australia, by way of California, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Montreal, Quebec, and Philadelphia. But then they arrived, with their brilliant accents and their gorgeous dispositions, and I am pleased as pavlova (I made that one up, sorry) to have been with them.

Having spent 5 days with these South Australia Crow Eaters, my impressions of them and, by extension, their countrymen (except the Victorians—sorry, Vics) are these:

  1. Cheerful
  2. Remarkably mood-free
  3. Accepting of anything and everyone
  4. Generous—so generous
  5. Just about the most pleasant, most easy-going people ever (did I mention that yet?)

My experiences with my long distance friends make me want to eat Vegemite and master the rules of the unbelievably intricate game that is cricket. Thanks to my friends, I can dream of kangaroos while eating the Tim Tams and Crown mints they toted across an ocean and from sea to shining sea. That’s no substitute for packing myself up in their suitcases, but it’ll have to suffice.

I’m thankful today for a wonderful visit, wonderful friends, the Internet (and my husband’s super-fandom for the musical group Out of the Grey) that made our relationship possible, and the Australian attitude toward holidays and travel that made a 3-week excursion to the States possible.

Now back to normal life. Crikey.

8 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    October 2, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Very nice thankful blog, Cheryl. Fun to read the Aussie/UK words in print. 🙂 Thank you for sharing Lorraine with us…it was a pleasure meeting her! I only wish I could have stayed longer to chat after dinner and have a cup of tea with the Tim Tams…yummy. 🙂

    • scheirmad said,

      October 4, 2009 at 9:00 am

      I’m glad you could make it, Monica. You seemed to be the one in the group with the linguistic edge on that score!

  2. memyselfandotherthings said,

    October 2, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Thank you very much for stopping by at my blog. Love your blog too and have added your blog to my google reader.

    Melx

    • scheirmad said,

      October 4, 2009 at 9:01 am

      Great! I’m a couple of years past where you are on the children timeline, but I hope you’ll enjoy looking forward as much as I do looking back. See you online!

  3. October 3, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Nice blog! I love the pic of the ‘roo AND the description of your Australian friends. They sound lovely!

    peace,
    Donna

    • scheirmad said,

      October 4, 2009 at 9:06 am

      Hi Donna, thank you for checking out my post! Funny that in the days following my post about the Aussies, I’ve received online visits from other (equally lovely) out-of-towners. What a small world we have!

      And thanks for your other comment tipping me off about Write2Ignite. I am very interested, and I’ll certainly consider it. There are so many wonderful writing communities around that I’m just learning about–it’s nice to see what’s out there!

  4. Lorraine said,

    October 10, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Hi Cheryl, Well we finally made it home to Adelaide via New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles Airport and Brisbane Airport. Alonzo is behaving well and took all the travel in his stride. He was a big hit with a ranger at Alcatraz and with some Firemen in San Francisco. Tomorrow he’ll meet my class at Settlers Farm.
    I felt pretty “gob smacked” and humble when I read the post. Our time in Dover was precious because it was our time with “real people” where we were friends and not tourists. There’s a big difference. I loved Dover and all the people I met. It had such a great community feeling. I can’t thank you enough for making me feel so welcome and including us with your family and friends.
    Jake’s “Court of Honour” was great fun and, yes I agree, it’s so great that the boys were/are allowed to be boys. I was impressed with the night and the proceedings and the fact that it while it was an “official” type of night there was plenty of room for fun and laughter.

  5. scheirmad said,

    October 11, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Lorraine,

    Nice to hear from you, and glad that your travels went smoothly and safely. I’m so happy to hear your very good reports! As you can see from this post, the feeling is mutual–we so much enjoyed our time with you!

    You should be receiving a “Adventures of Flat Alonzo” photo book in the next few weeks. It chronicles his (and our) adventures through 10/1. Jake and I had a lot of fun putting it together, and we wanted you to have a copy.

    My best to Dieter, your children, and your class at school.

    Much love,
    Cheryl


Leave a Reply

