The inevitable

tissues

Temperature: 100.3 degrees.

Symptoms: coughing, sneezing, headache, fatigue.

General mood: surprisingly pleasant, openly affectionate, remarkably agreeable, and awfully quiet.

Yes, we’ve got our first sick kid of the season here at home, and it couldn’t have come more out of nowhere. It happened on a Sunday morning right after a hairy canary Friday night and Saturday day, wherein we’d somehow managed to squeeze in school, a girl scout meeting, a girl scout ceremony, a homecoming parade, a kids fun event at church, a soccer game, a playdate, a birthday party, and a visit to the local corn maze.

That’s enough to make anybody sick.

To be honest, I practically couldn’t sleep after I looked at the ink-barfed calendar that I’d loaded up the day before (who schedules ANY mandatory children’s activity 2 days after Christmas?!?!?!!). The craziness of these kids’ schedules would drive a celebrity right to the front page of a supermarket tabloid. Think Mariah Carey completely disoriented on Total Request Live. Or a freshly shaven Britney Spears. Thankfully I do not have broad enough media exposure to embarrass myself royally with a “they’ve gotta go where?!?!” nervous breakdown in the middle of a sea of paparazzi.

But back to the sickie.

Neither of my children has run a good fever in a long time, and, besides being a natural braking mechanism for our schedules of insanity, I’ve found that sickness just brings out the sweet in them. The “I love you” eyes. The cozy cuddling. The “It’s OK, Mom” expressions. They’ll downright melt you.

So here I am…hating the germs but loving the sneezer. I mean, I’d love him anyway, but the sweet symptoms make liking him pretty much effortless. And if you’re looking for a silver lining in this anti-bacterial world of ours, man, that’s it–right there.

2 Comments

  1. Donna Earnhardt said,

    October 5, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    I know the feeling. Two of my three girls came down with headaches, sore throats and fever last week. No strep. No flu. Just a nasty bout with an unidentified virus.

    They were oh-so-sweet! And wow – the cuddling that ensued was glorious! The only problem with that? Dad and I then came down with the same. My mom lives an hour and a half away…but she coddled me via phone. 🙂

    Hope they are better soon…and hope you still get lots of lovin’!

    peace,
    Donna

    • scheirmad said,

      October 5, 2009 at 6:43 pm

      Thanks for the good wishes, Donna. The sweetness highlight of today was that my 11-year-old son had a Richard Scarry/Busytown retrospective–you know, Huckle and Lowly and the book, “What do people do all day?” At one point he was reading and he said, “Mom, I didn’t know there were so many uses for wood” and then he said, “I love the one about making bread!”

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the rest of us don’t get sick and that he gets better soon, but we’ll try to enjoy what’s enjoyable while it lasts.

      Take care,
      Cheryl


Leave a Reply

