Thankful for…

jumbo muffins
…my jumbo muffin pan

…the smell of fresh-baked banana nut muffins when I walk in the door

…boxed brownie mix

…my electric blanket

…author Ian McEwan, and every heartbreaking page of his book Atonement

…websites that let you turn your pictures into products (shutterfly.com, zazzle.com, cafepress.com, moo.com)

The Adventures of Flat Alonzo (our “Flat Stanley” friend from Ms. Von Steuben’s class at Ebert-Palmer Elementary School)

…mall walking with Hayley in the morning, before state testing

…straight A’s on Jake’s room cleaning report card

Craisins

12 Comments

  1. memyselfandotherthings said,

    October 22, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    A jumbo muffin pan… ok, I really have enough kitchen paraphenelia, but I think this is something I need.

    Oh and I heart McEwan. I love Atonement.

    • Cheryl said,

      October 22, 2009 at 1:56 pm

      Yes, get thee a jumbo muffin pan.

      And one more entry…

      …thankful for a blog buddy who shares my taste in books–too bad she’s on another continent. ; (

  2. Amy said,

    October 22, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I’ve got one….I am thankful for Dan’s USCGA application going out in the mail today!!! Now only 4 more college applictions to go! Will I survive?????
    Amy…
    p.s….where did you ever get the jumbo muffin pan? I definitely need to get one of these!!!

    • Cheryl said,

      October 23, 2009 at 8:31 am

      USCGA–all right!!!!! I’m trusting that God will lead Dan to absolutely the right college for him. YOU WILL SURVIVE!!!

      I got my j.m.p. at Kohl’s. It just makes me happy!

      -C

  3. Lorraine said,

    October 23, 2009 at 6:34 am

    I am thankful for the laughter in my class today. We have just had a “Smartboard” installed and it’s amazing. I used Photostory to make a slide show of the class excursion to a gymnastics centre. It even puts the thing to music. So on our big beautiful board today (it’s like having a movie screen in the classroom) we watched the show. The kids were rolling around laughing at themselves. All done is a generous spirit and good sports all round. I bet they ask to watch it again. (and if work is up-to-date I’ll let them!)
    PS We’ve also used our new technology for Society and Environment – research on Yellowstone and Maths!

    • Cheryl said,

      October 23, 2009 at 8:34 am

      I just looked Smartboard up online and, yeah, it does look amazing! Sounds like a great reward for getting one’s work done.

      Your story reminds me of the time Craig presented his Antarctica slide show at school–the film of the penguin belly surfing down the ice really got them rolling!

      -C

  4. Monica said,

    October 23, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I’m thankful for your jumbo muffin pan too and the banana nut muffin was yummmmy. 🙂 Thanks again for bringing it with the Guernsey book. I’m also enjoying the book and hopefully I’ll finish it in time.

    I’ve got a tasty recipe for oatmeal white chocolate cranberry (craisin) cookies which I’m pretty happy to have found on the oceanspray website. Made them a few times now this fall and they are a big hit. You should try them! 🙂

    • Cheryl said,

      October 23, 2009 at 12:32 pm

      Oh, I’ve made those!!! They are sooo good!

      I’m glad you liked the muffin!

      -C

  5. Lorraine said,

    October 23, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    The class is completely into an add from Europe which features a soccer playing squirrel. I used it in our “Sport” theme to deconstruct media as its about a “sport drink” but tells you nothing about the drink other than its name and the message that if you give it to a squirrel it will become an amazing soccer player! And yes …we’ve already watched it on our sparkly, new smart board!
    PS have to tell you that all the talk of menus has inspired me to “get back on track” and plan healthy meals. H’mmm, it’s Saturday am here I’m about to drop Dieter at German School and go shopping. Will I stay on track…?

    • Cheryl said,

      October 24, 2009 at 3:14 pm

      You WILL stay on track!!! With meals like “Carmelized onion, goat cheese, and beer crust pizza” who wouldn’t?

  6. October 24, 2009 at 10:49 am

    boxed brownies…AMEN! 😉

    Flat Stanleys sound like a hoot. My school never participated, but a friend of mine explained the phenomenon to me a year or so ago. What a great way to interact with others across the world!

    • Cheryl said,

      October 24, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      Our Flat Alonzo (aka Stanley) was a whole lot of fun. His visit with us coincided with a visit from Australian friends Dieter and Lorraine (another blog reader!), so he went with us to Philadelphia, DC, Rehoboth Beach, and our own town. I just wish the real Alonzo could have come with us!


Leave a Reply

