Can I rant?

Big Boom

Minor kaboom this morning in daughter Hayley’s room—

It seems that her weekly, hours’ long, quasi-efforts at room cleaning have been helped along by a healthy dose of stuff-shoving, as evidenced by a pile of under-bed junk the likes of which has not been seen since I myself hoarded up my own pile of under-bed junk as a kid back in the 1970’s.

Admitting it is the first step, right?

All the clothes, books, dolls, etc, etc, etc from under her bed is now spread out all over the carpet as if TV slob Oscar Madison had been evicted from his apartment. Hayley is on some serious probation, considering that she’d been hearing Mom and Dad’s “no shoving” clause for months and chose to ignore it. Now she has to pay the piper, in the form of skipping one of two super-fun evening activities tonight and getting the job done. Too bad, as her dad and I were planning on dining out alone during one of them (sorry, Craig). Looks like we all lose on this one. Rats.

It’s not the mess so much as the lying that’s getting me, though as I say that, I think it sounds like, “It’s not the heat, as much as the humidity,” or “It’s not so much dropping out of the sky; it’s more the sudden stop when you hit the ground.” It’s both, really, but somehow it’s comforting to prioritize.

I have to say that this issue comes not long after another disturbing encounter. The other day, Jake owed Hayley some money, but didn’t have enough to cover the entire debt. I paid the remainder and said Jake could owe me. Then Hayley said, “It’s better to owe Mom, because she forgets about it.”

My response: “?!?!!?”

You better believe I followed up on that debt, taking a Reese’s peanut butter cup from Jake’s Halloween candy stash in lieu of the 50 cents I was owed. I had his permission, of course, because, hey, someone’s got to be honest around here.

12 Comments

  1. memyselfandotherthings said,

    November 6, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Argh, that does sound super irritating. I yet have all of this to come. Must take note, must take note, must take note… sigh.

  2. scheirmad said,

    November 6, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Thank you for indulging me.

    Back to thankfulness next week.

  3. Amy said,

    November 6, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I know when I look under my kids bed, I’m setting myself up for additional stress….so unless we are having company and they are going to sleep in a particular room….I leave well enough alone. Oh dear…now you’ve got me worrying!!!!

    • Cheryl said,

      November 6, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one with the “out of sight, out of mind” approach!! I hear you on that extra stress!

  4. Cr@ig said,

    November 6, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    I guess it would not be so bad except for the time we found an open!! jar of Marshmallow fluff under Hayley’s bed! Since we just had a run in with an army of ants in kitchen, I do not want to think about what could be under her bed that the ants would do a 6-legged dance for. yikes!!

    As for the under the bed thing– Jake had the same problem until I installed boards all around that prevent shoving. It also prevents the main character from the kindergarten story called (I’m not kidding) the ‘Ankle Grabber’ from hiding there.

    • Cheryl said,

      November 6, 2009 at 3:20 pm

      I think that what was under Hayley’s bed was scarier than any Ankle Grabber could ever be. Either that or the Ankle Grabber is a Class A hoarder!

  5. Cr@ig said,

    November 6, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Get R’ done Hayley — so we can go out to dinner tonight!!

  6. Lorraine said,

    November 6, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Yep, sounds like you have a happy (well perhaps not right now), normal, absolutely regular (and cute and funny) little girl. Isn’t God good?
    Count your blessings – Hayley was not running a mold experiment under her bed like 6 year old Joseph did! Took us awhile to track the smell.
    Funny about the Ankle Grabber – Rebekah recognised “Flat Alonzo” immediately and confessed that Flat Stanley was the reason she couldn’t have anything above her bed. We never knew! Hope I’m not giving any of the kids in my class a complex.

  7. Cheryl said,

    November 7, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thank you, oh wise mother of grown-up children! Of course, Hayley is a blessing, as confirmed by the adorable way in which she polled her classmates to see when evening activity she should give up in order to clean her room and then, when we sat down together to start the job, said, “Is there more lecture?”

    No mold, no candy wrappers, but lots of papers and lots of clean (thank heaven) undies and socks.

    And by the way, Flat Stanley was always a favorite of mine. I was completely fascinated by his flatness and not at all fearful. Too bad about Rebekah on that score. I guess I had used up all my fear already on those darn flying monkeys!

  8. Andie said,

    November 9, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Yeowch! Hope it gets better!

    • scheirmad said,

      November 10, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Yup, better already, especially since Craig spent 2 hours helping move along the room-cleaning process so that he and I could send the kids to Fab Friday and go out to dinner alone!


Leave a Reply

