At just the right time…

Sallys flowers…Sally called.

I was in the midst of preparations for my evening book club, and my lovely neighbor Sally called with an offer of cut flowers from her garden. How could she have known I was wishing for exactly that? That I had already been to the market and passed up every last bunch? That I had 2 huge brownies in the cupboard to offer as a thank you to her and her dear husband, who is sometimes misunderstood, but unceasingly generous to me?

Sally’s offer really made my rainy, rainy day. A not-so-random kindness. A blessing.

12 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    November 12, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    They were really lovely on your table Cheryl. So many different varieties of mums. Thank you for having us in your home last night. Dinner was great and I had a nice time. Let me know what you think of the CD I lent you…anxious to hear if you liked it.

    • scheirmad said,

      November 12, 2009 at 10:00 pm

      I’m glad you liked the flowers. And, oh, I’m so glad you could make it!! Such a cozy atmosphere on such a soggy evening, if I do say so myself! The people (and the flowers!) made the night–it just wasn’t the same this morning.

      I haven’t listened yet (work, kids, laundry, AGH!) but I’m looking forward to some soothing tunes this weekend! Thanks for the loaner!

  2. memyselfandotherthings said,

    November 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Lovely, it is great when stuff like this happens.

    • scheirmad said,

      November 12, 2009 at 10:01 pm

      Sending you a virtual bouquet…now.

  3. Amy said,

    November 12, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    They were absolutely beautiful and the evening was just as wonderful! Thank you my dear friend and all my other fellow book club members!!!

    • scheirmad said,

      November 12, 2009 at 10:03 pm

      So glad you could be there, Amy!

      That reminds me, with all this rain some Coast Guard training could really come in handy. We practically needed a boat to retrieve our trash can from the street. Hear that, Dan?

  4. Lorraine said,

    November 13, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Please send rain our way! we’ve just made the record books for the longest heatwave ever in November! I think I could do without that particular record. Have spent a week indoors with the class and was REALLY glad when 3:05 came today.
    Alonzo had a great day doing Technology with the class – a high interest task to give the kids a focus in the heat – to build a pageant float, they did a great job. Adelaide has its big Christmas pageant tomorrow (Saturday) morning – the forecast is 39 C … and my niece, Ellie, is dancing the entire route as a snowflake!
    Had dinner last night with 2 of our kids and played …Mexican Train dominoes! Dieter hunted down a set and Joseph and Rebekah gave them to him as an early birthday present. We had great fun and I finally won a game.

    • Cheryl said,

      November 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

      We sure do have rain to spare, Lorraine! But I fear that I am hopeless in developing a frame of reference for centigrade and for seasonality around the globe.

      My handy converter tells me that 39 C = 84.2 F, so a fairly warm spring day for us. This being our fall, it’s your spring so–hey, maybe I get it now!!! Snowflakes in spring?!?! My mind is swelling and now sore.

      Dominoes is fun…and intense, I think! When is Dieter’s birthday?

  5. Cr@ig said,

    November 13, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I just checked. 39ºC = 102.2ºF ouch!

    Dieter = November 23rd!

    Yea dominoes!

    • Cheryl said,

      November 13, 2009 at 4:18 pm

      Curse that online converter–it gave me the wrong answer!!!!!

    • Lorraine said,

      November 13, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      Dieter is your 23rd but our 24th. He used to worry when he was a kid that if he was born in Germany on the 24th maybe his birthday should be the 25th in Australia.

      • Cheryl said,

        November 13, 2009 at 6:00 pm

        Now my mind is completely bent.


Leave a Reply

