Thankful for a tradition transition

This year, I’m thankful for a little different Thanksgiving celebration.

My Mom and Dad didn’t come to us this year because they were here last weekend for my Dover Symphony concert (thanks for coming, Mom and Dad). They were only staying until Monday, though, and considering how busy, sick, and exhausted we’ve been over the past few weeks, we weren’t really interested in making the Thanksgiving trek of eternal traffic to visit them in New Jersey. Since our dear friend Sybil (aka, Scott, my brother-in-law) and his wife (hi, Beth!) have hosted the Scheir side of the family for about the past 10 years or so, we figured they’d have their hands full and didn’t invite ourselves along. Nor did we invite any of them here. Ultimately, Craig and I decided that we’d be spending Thanksgiving here at home, with the kids, alone.

We were so excited when my sister hit on the money idea of the decade: Chinese food. Chinatown Buffet (the one by Toys ‘R Us and TJ Maxx), she said, would be open on Thanksgiving Day. Crazy? Crazy enough to really work, I thought, especially since it seemed silly to make a turkey dinner with all the trimmings for 4 people, especially when 1 is a vegetarian. I trial ballooned the idea on Facebook and got all the affirmation I was looking for. My favorite response was from Connie, our pastor’s wife, who called me and said, “It’s so nice that you’re making memories for the children. Just think, someday they’ll say, ‘Remember that time Mom went crazy and we had Chinese food for Thanksgiving?'”

Amen, sister. Pass the chopsticks.

So, 4 hours after a lovely breakfast of cranberry sauce, spoonbread, and eggy/cheesy biscuits, off we trekked to the Chinatown Buffet. And it was aweSOME!!! Sushi! Noodles! Egg rolls! Brownies! Happy service! Happier customers! And no darn dishes to boot–gosh, am I thankful!!

I’m especially thankful that we could be upfront and honest with the rest of the family about our temporary tradition transition. Come to find out that when Craig called his Mom, she said that Scott and family made a tradition departure of their own, going instead to his sister-in-law’s for the day (which, in case you’re reading, is perfectly A-OK by me, Scott), leaving Aunt Kay, Aunt Bebble, and Mom and Dad Scheir on their own for dinner (again, different, but perfectly OK). So it was a low-key change of pace for everybody this year–and the Chinese option was a fun conversation piece.

Would we do it again? I don’t know. But it was the right thing at the right time for a family that bit off way more than it could chew this fall. For the rest and relaxation, we are so very thankful.

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    November 27, 2009 at 4:37 am

    In Germany for Christmas 2007 we were in Dieter’s late dad’s home town but didn’t know a soul. The place was shut tight for the Holiday and even the hotel we stayed in didn’t do anything other than breakfast. We walked around after going to Mass and finally found a kebab and yiros shop open. That was a very different Christmas lunch but the best was still to come. The only place we could find open for dinner was a Chinese restaurant so that was what we had! We both remember that day with a lot of laughter and smiles so I think your choice was nothing less than BRILLIANT! Just wish we could have shared the banquet with you!

    • scheirmad said,

      November 28, 2009 at 8:53 am

      I love it when you call me ‘brilliant’! Such a self-esteem booster!

      I bet people have lots of great stories about not-so traditional holidays they’ve had. Sometimes the most out-of-the-ordinary are the most memorable!

  2. Monica said,

    November 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Glad to hear you all had a yummy Thanksgiving Chinese feast. πŸ™‚ Lorraine’s story reminds me of my favorite holiday movie called A Christmas Story when the family’s turkey gets eaten by the dogs and they have their memorable Chinese duck for the Christmas meal. A must see holiday movie! πŸ™‚

    • scheirmad said,

      November 28, 2009 at 8:56 am

      Hilarious! Reminds me of that Thanksgiving after my Grandma died when my Grandfather put the turkey in the stationary tub to brine or defrost or something. Turned out that was the tub into which the dirty water from the washing machine drained. One load of laundry and we were kind of scrambling. My mom saved the day–she bought another turkey!

      Oh, and then there was that time that my mother ran out of space at home and put her fresh turkey in the refrigerator at her church. When Craig and I went to fetch it on Thanksgiving morning, we discovered the pastor had given it away to a needy family. Mom wasn’t happy, but we thought it was hysterical!


Leave a Reply

