Guest posting: a funny from my Dad

I spent much of the day yesterday with my nose in a medical dictionary, so when I received this from my Dad, it made me laugh out loud. Dad has graciously given me permission to post it (although I didn’t take out the brand name like he asked–sorry, Dad), and, yes, it is original. Enjoy!

Label: SWAN 70% Isopropyl Rubbing Alcohol
RUBEFACIENT, TOPICAL ANTIMICROBIAL

WARNING: FOR EXTERNAL USE ONLY.
Will produce serious gastric disturbances if taken internally.

Doctor: “What is wrong with you?”
Patient: “Something has produced serious gastric disturbances.”
Doctor: “Have you been using SWAN 70% Isopropyl Rubbing Alcohol internally?!”

2 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    December 20, 2009 at 2:44 am

    With a nursing background way in the past I had a great chuckle at this one. Go Cheryl’s dad! It also took me back to the year the nurses (honestly it wasn’t me) put a swig of alcohol ( yes, ward stock rubbing alcohol!) into the Christmas punch! Still I guess we all survived and we were young and it was a long, long time ago!
    I have a great “Teacher Story” – I met next year’s class on the last day of the school year. We have a 30 minute “meet your teacher” session before recess. So it was almost over and this is how it went:
    Teacher: (me): Okay does anyone want to ask any questions?
    Small boy, putting up hand tentatively: Are you a mean teacher?
    Teacher: Of course I am. I’m a teacher, it’s my job to be mean. Yep
    Second boy sitting next to the questioner, turns and looks at him: I think we’ll be okay. The mean ones don’t admit to it!

  2. scheirmad said,

    December 20, 2009 at 7:44 am

    That school story is priceless! What kids say–I’m sure every teacher could write a book!! What a great way to start off your relationship with them!


Leave a Reply

