BIG SNOW 2009

On Friday afternoon, when the weekend weather predictions were for 10-14 inches of snow, a fourth grader friend gave me the latest conventional wisdom on the “Come on, snow” ritual. To guarantee a snowfall, she said, you should

  1. Flush an ice cube down the toilet
  2. Put a sock on your doorknob
  3. Place a spoon under your pillow
  4. Wear your pajamas inside out

When I told young Abby and Sam Malinky about this on Friday night, they did all four almost immediately…and now, around 20 inches of snow later, I suspect their efforts have paid off.

The snow is at least knee high on me, and the only part of my car that I can see is the side mirror. All weekend events from plays to church to social activities have been cancelled, and all I can say is thank goodness I finished my Christmas cards and Christmas shopping on Friday. School was scheduled to happen on Monday and Tuesday, but if the cleanup doesn’t proceed quickly, then I suspect we’ll be declaring ourselves already on winter break. I am not one to overuse the word ‘awesome,’ but if this is not an occasion for it, I don’t know what is.

I have a feeling that the best part of today will be when I walk outside and smell all those Christmas cookies baking and fireplace fires blazing, then walk inside to smell the roast turkey that’s been in my freezer since before Thanksgiving, when I opted to go untraditional and ate Chinese instead. It’s amazing to me that, in what has been a month of chart topping stress (like any other December), I’ve been blessed with such a welcome and beautiful halt to the normally hairy routine. So, sitting here in the early morning, before anyone else has awakened, I think what I also think on that much-anticipated night when we gain the autumnal daylight savings hour: let’s not squander it.

7 Comments

  1. memyselfandotherthings said,

    December 20, 2009 at 9:12 am

    OK, all 4 done now. Let’s see what happens.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    • Cheryl said,

      December 20, 2009 at 4:54 pm

      So nice to hear from you!!!

      Fingers crossed here for a white Christmas in your neck of the woods.

      Take care, and a happy new year too!!

  2. Amy Valenti said,

    December 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    This snowstorm is just what Santa ordered for us all to re-group and think about what the season is all about. Spending time with family and friends…baking cookies, sitting by the fire, enjoying the season. Although I still have a few things left to do before Christmas, I decided that yesterday and today were days to devote to my family and not worry about what is not getting done!!!! So Merry Christmas to all but especially to my dear friend Cheryl who has made me enjoy life a little more!!!

    • Cheryl said,

      December 20, 2009 at 4:53 pm

      Amen to that, Amy! I’m really loving being with the family too.

      I’ve already made biscuits, 2 batches of cookies, and have dough in the fridge for a third. It’s so nice to actually have the TIME to do what we enjoy, isn’t it?

      Thanks for the encouragement that you always are to me, Amy! Merry Christmas to you and your family too!

  3. Lorraine said,

    December 20, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I’m not sure that the “ritual of four” would work for me down here!
    Last night we went into Elder Park on the banks of the River Torrens (Adelaide’s sweet little river) for the Carols by Candlelight. (See cover of Alonzo’s book for location!) We carried our chairs and caught the bus to avoid car parking issues and along with more than 35,000 others sat near the river on a beautiful clear and warm night to sing carols. This year most of the “candles” were little battery operated ones with different coloured “flames” but some people had brought along the traditional burning kind. As the sun began to set and the candles got turned on or lit the river banks turned into a fairyland.
    Dieter and I had a “White Christmas” in Altenburg, Germany two year ago and it was like being in a traditional Christmas card but much, much,much colder!

  4. Cheryl said,

    December 22, 2009 at 8:27 am

    What a beautiful scene that must have been. I’m thinking that for next year, you could get some Hollywood snow–it’s biodegradable and dissolves in rain! I saw it on a decorating show yesterday. The package said, “Better than new fallen snow.” Not sure about that but it’s worth a try!

    Thanks for your Christmas card. We received it yesterday. We are hopelessly behind and still have yours here. A New(ish) Year’s card would work, right?

  5. Lorraine said,

    December 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Definitely!
    Now back to the snow bring-it-on-er…I’ve done all four…if we don’t get snow (no hope) maybe the temperature will drop! Today is 42 Celsius! That’s around 105 F!


Leave a Reply

