Christmas

This Christmas day, I am deferring to two who are wiser than I. The first is Ebenezer Scrooge’s nephew, Fred, who said, in Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol,

“There are many things from which I might have derived good, by which I have not profited, I dare say, Christmas among the rest. But I am sure I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round, –apart from the veneration due its sacred origin, if anything belonging to it can be apart from that, –as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time; the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow-travellers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys. And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it.”

…and Zechariah, the father of John the Baptist, whose prophecy about his son’s role in the ministry of Jesus Christ is recorded in the Gospel of Luke:

“For our God is merciful and tender; He will cause the bright dawn of salvation to rise on us, and shine from heaven on all those who live in the shadow of death, to guide our steps into the path of peace.”

Merry Christmas, everyone!

A quick note: I’ll be travelling until Tuesday, 12/29, and not making drama journal or blog entries, but be sure to catch up with me after that. I’m sure there will be lots to tell!

Leave a Reply

