The darndest things

Three things my children have said this week that I have loved:

  1. “Mom, something happened today that made me feel bad about myself.” I don’t love that something made Hayley feel bad about herself, but I love that she had the words to articulate how she was feeling. I usually label that sort of thing ‘insecurity,’ but I like what Hayley says better. I told her that when that bad feeling comes, she should look at herself and check whether she’s done anything wrong. If not, then the bad feeling, while there, should not be honored. Now if only I can apply this to myself, we’ll both be in really good shape.
  2. “Mom, are you a senior citizen?” I don’t love this because of the implied perception of premature aging. I love it because it was part of Jake’s diabolical plan to save us money at the car wash. Jake figures that if I pretend to be a senior citizen, then on senior day we’ll save a dollar. Good plan.
  3. “Mom, when we get home, will you play Wii with me?” This I love because the Wii Resort game has a cycling program and when two people play our little Mii’s are riding a bicycle built for two. I think that I can say for certain that there is no better feeling than cycling up a volcano on a tandem bike with your child steering clear of the lava. We took a 6-day tour in 20 minutes and came in 31st place. Not bad for a mother-son team, especially when the mother is nearly a senior citizen. That doesn’t make me feel bad about myself at all.
4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    January 9, 2010 at 8:35 am

    One of my offspring once asked me, “How much did a chocolate frog cost when you were alive?” I was worried for a little while that I’d died, didn’t know it and no-one had had the decency to tell me!

    • scheirmad said,

      January 9, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Too funny–reminds me of the Tim McCarver Memorial Ballpark that was built when Tim McCarver was still alive (still is, actually)!

      Yesterday’s other notable quote of the day, about what determines who one dances with at the Junior Cotillion Holly Ball: I said to Jake, “Are you supposed to choose a dance partner based on your personal affections or do you just ask someone whom you’d like to get to know better?” Jake replied, “That–and height.”

  2. Amy said,

    January 9, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I aso had fun playing WII with my son last night. We had a 3 point shooting contest, played 3 on 3 basketball ,table tennis, sword fighing, and we also went wakeboarding.I scored a whopping 198 points in wakeboarding. Not too shabby coming from a mom that is almost ready to join AARP!!! But then my 15 year old had his turn…he put me in my place scoring 1175 points. Guess I need to practice….. ALOT!

    • scheirmad said,

      January 9, 2010 at 9:56 am

      Oh my gosh–the wakeboarding is maddening! And Craig gave up on 3 on 3 basketball because there were too many buttons and not enough explanations. The tandem bike tour is the best, though. Teamwork!!


Leave a Reply

