7 Comments

  1. Monica said,

    February 4, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    All I can say is that I feel your pain. 🙂 Getting Dominic to do extracurricular things I think he’d enjoy is very difficult. I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t push. It is very hard to get a kid who likes a certain routine and doing his own thing to try something new. I guess I’m trying the more yes approach to parenting….except for the spelling bee. 🙂

  2. Cheryl said,

    February 4, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I always find it interesting when Jake balks at something I think he’s love–like swimming at the beach. Or just going to the beach. Do video games make us sunlight averse? Then again, I can remember not wanting to swim/go to the beach when I was a pre-teen. Although if I had Jake’s washboard abs back then, you better believe I’d have been out there!

    Good luck to Dominic on the bee!! For a proletariat auto-didact, I’m sure he’ll kick butt!

  3. Amy said,

    February 4, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Keep encouraging him to attend camp. BS camp has always been a week my kids have looked forward to. Unfortunately the Valenti boys won’t be attending this year since the three of them will be at National Jamboree. Tell Jake that Nathan likes camp so much, that he was a CIT (counselor in training) last year and will be again this year except this year he gets PAID!!!!
    Let me know what he decides or if he would like to see some pictures of things they do at camp. I have plenty of people in this how that would say only wonderful things about their camping experience (except maybe the meals and in that case I’ll make sure they don’t say anything about them!).

    • Cheryl said,

      February 7, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Thanks for the encouragement Amy. Jake has decided to go for it! I think the deciding factors were (1) Stuart Vaughan will be there and (2) Hayley won’t be there. Oh well. As you probably know by now, Jake is a vegetarian, so we’ll just have to verify the options in that department. PB&J for a week–hooray!

      Thanks so much for hosting all of us the other night. Jake and Hayley were impressed that you actually have a Shampow (Craig is incredulous!), and they now officially know your children collectively as the Valenti boys. I’m sure they’re not the first!

      Take care, and enjoy the snow!!!!

    • Cheryl said,

      February 7, 2010 at 8:56 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, Amy! Jake has decided to go for it! I think the deciding factors were (1) Stuart Vaughan will be there and (2) Hayley will not be there. Oh well.

      Thanks for hosting us the other night. Jake and Hayley are very impressed that you own a Shampow. And they now know your children collectively as “the Valenti boys.” I’m sure they’re not alone.

      Enjoy the snow!!!!!!

  4. Lorraine said,

    February 5, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Rebekah was our outdoor adventurer. She was in Girl Guides (Girl Scouts) and was always eager to head off to any camp that meant time away from us! She was full of stories when she came home like the State Camp she attended where the organisers told a couple of troops to pitch their tents in a particular paddock forgetting that the guy who lived adjacent to the camp had rented the paddock for his camels! Said man and camels were out at, I think, the beach walk and winery expedition that he runs and didn’t return until late. Girls were bunked down in sleeping bags in tents and camel owner didn’t notice the tents way across the paddock but his camels did when he put them in for the night! Camels are apparently curious creatures and wanted to visit with each of the tents. Caused a bit of a riot for awhile but made for a fantastic story after the camp!

    • Cheryl said,

      February 7, 2010 at 8:47 am

      I’ve been campting many times, but cannot in any way top the camels. What a great story!!


Leave a Reply

