My Life

As you may already know, I’m reading a bio of Edgar Allan Poe right now, and I’m really learning a lot about someone whom I thought was mostly a homeless wine-o who wrote occasionally between binges. The “homeless” part isn’t quite accurate (although he often had three homes in one year), nor is the “occasionally” part (he was actually fairly prolific at times). But alcoholism was surely a part of his profile, and sometimes his writing dry spells were strongly connected to it.

When Poe once failed to deliver a promised new poem at a Boston lecture, reading instead an obscure and infinitely long snoozer of a poem he wrote when he was 11 years old, he covered by saying that he intended to make the substitution all along, as a way of mocking on the Bostonians and their already questionable taste level. I will make no such excuse for my own week long posting dry spell. The truth in my case is that the kids were off from school due to snow, etc. for about a week and a half, followed by 3 days of 2 hour delays, which takes its own kind of toll on the writing schedule.

So as I’m sitting here in bed, killing time before the delayed start of today’s school day, icing my aching Wii tennis shoulder, and marveling that a former classmate of mine has friended (not my favorite) high school English teacher on Facebook, I am restarting the writing process with some reflections about my life, inspired in part by last night’s Tivo-d viewing of the Vancouver Olympics:

If my life was a…

…weather prediction, it would be 2 millimeters of ice followed by 4 inches of powdery snow.

…piece of furniture, it would be a well used, super cozy chair-and-a-half.

…vacation spot, it would be the Wii Sports Resort.

…sport, it would be the biathlon. Uphill skiing crossed with shooting at a half dollar sized target a football field away? Oh yeah, it certainly feels that way sometimes.

…fruit, it would be a mango. So good, but so hard to get a grip on.

…song, I fear that it would be sung by a washed-up, big haired, spandex wearing, rock pompous flash in the pan from the ’80’s. I’d prefer Eric Clapton, but I’ll take whoever I can get.

…dance, Hayley says it would be the tango. I guess that’s better than the hokey pokey. I’m just thankful it’s not the chicken dance.

…school, it would have dried cranberries on the lunchroom menu every single day.

…musical instrument, it would be the bassoon. What other instrument sounds like it’s laughing pretty much all the time?

3 Comments

  1. Cr@ig said,

    February 18, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    As they say, it takes two to tango. I’m glad to be the one you are Tango-ing with!

  2. Cr@ig said,

    February 19, 2010 at 11:59 am

    If your life were a song, it’d be sung by Art Garfunkel in that sweet and caring way he does. It would NOT be one of those Simon and Grafunkel songs that sound upbeat, but are really tragic, but rather it would have a funky beat, thoughful words, an unforgettable melody, and a chorus with a profound meaning. And one that we could Tango to!

  3. Lorraine said,

    February 25, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Hey Craig, that is soooo sweet!


Leave a Reply

