The Return of Thankful Thursday

Due to the grueling trials of our record-breaking amounts of snow this winter, Thankful Thursday has been on vacation at a secret, unseasonably warm, undisclosed location where you never, ever, no matter how badly you play, ever get knocked out of the ping pong tournament by the pool. However, with temperatures rising (sort of), Thankful Thursday has returned (mostly because he’s afraid that Big Melt 2010 will create a new swimming pool–in his basement).

With all of that in mind, I must confess that I am most thankful today that my family and I have finally been able to observe in our lives real manifestations of self-control, a “fruit of the spirit” promised in the Bible. The evidence is this: we’ve had Girl Scout cookies in the house for 2 weeks now, and we’ve still got some left.

I can’t say the same for the Grandma Utz kettle cooked potato chips that we had with our sprout subs this evening. Those things are GONE.

Baby steps, right?

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    February 26, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I think the pertinent question is: How many Girl Scout cookies are left compared to how many you started with?
    My class is incredibly envious of “Snow Days”. We had a hot weather policy day yesterday which is a sit-in-the-shade-and-don’t-do-anything-day at recess and a stay-in-the-classroom for half of lunch break with your oh-so-excited teacher who then goes out on duty for 10 minutes which is also sit-in-the-shade-and-don’t-do-anything- time for students but teachers still have to patrol! Last 10 minutes of lunch time was spent grabbing some things I needed for class during the afternoon!

    • scheirmad said,

      February 27, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      It’s hard to tell about the cookies, because each of us has a secret stash. But I would say that we’ve consumed about half of the 12 or so boxes we started with. Any American will tell you there’s only like 3 cookies in each box though. So I guess on that score we’re doing pretty well.

      Our snow days are getting us dangerously close to going to school well into summer vacation, which is a big bummer. The latest thing to stop the bleed of cancelled school days is the 2 hour delay, which is good for sleeping in, but bad for my morning tennis lesson. The worst is the automated “late start to school” announcement phone call from the school–which usually comes in around 5:30 am. Last time we got one, I thought it was my alarm and flipped the “off” switch; when the ringing didn’t stop, I realized what it was, staggered to my dresser, picked up the phone, and in my sleepy stupor promptly dropped it. With all the excitement I couldn’t get back to sleep. Darn.

  2. Monica said,

    February 27, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Can I join Thankful Thursday in that warm place? I won’t tell anyone the coordinates. πŸ™‚ I actually still have girl scout cookies in my house too. I’ve listed the weight watcher points on each box which is a great deterrant.
    I hear you on those kettle chips…delicious. πŸ™‚ You are right about the baby steps..a very good thing to keep in mind.

  3. Cheryl said,

    February 28, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Don’t tell me points on the chips, will ya? I want to be blissfully ignorant!


Leave a Reply

