Reset

Yes, I know. I haven’t posted in over a week, and I know you’ve had one of two reactions:

(a) “Something awful must have happened, and Cheryl must be pinned under a large, overturned piece of mahogany furniture and unable to drag herself over to the keyboard!”

(b) “Something wonderful must have happened (on Cheryl’s Wheel of Fortune appearance), and Cheryl has been enjoying herself so much (on vacation in Aruba) that she hasn’t had time for her normally scheduled activities (like writing on her blog and dusting off her newly acquired porcelain dog).”

Truth is that by way of an unexpected chain of events, I have taken on some new writing work, for which I am very thankful, but which has given me a little bit of a challenge. In the last week, I’ve been wondering, how do I fit it all in?

This is the cliché of the working mother’s dilemma, isn’t it? And believe me, I’ve heard the advice—and I’ve even given some of my own. “You can do it all, but not all at the same time.” I think I remember reading that in a magazine article written by…oh yeah, me…at around this time last year. What can I say, but “Writer, appropriately prioritize thyself!”

I’m not perfect at the priorities thing, but I figure that even though I’m filling up more of my days with writing obligations, I am also needing to do the same things I did before, not so thrilling things like grocery shopping, laundry, and housecleaning, and much more my cup of tea things like cookie baking, tennis playing, and viola practicing. What I’m realizing is that I can fit it all in, but it just takes a little more planning, a little more waiting, and a lot more creatively fitting in-ing.

Oh, and it doesn’t hurt to have a husband who picks up the slack. Boy, Craig, have you picked up the slack. Yup, lots of slack being picked up by Craig.

What I’m loving the most is that together times with the family have become more precious—more of a break, more of a reconnecting time. I didn’t think that a walk to the park to throw the Frisbee could be so refreshing, but, let me tell you, after a long day it’s a welcome change of scenery and a great opportunity for hugs, encouragement, laughter, listening, and real relaxation. I know the “honeymoon” may wear off, but for now, I’m glad.

3 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    March 25, 2010 at 5:36 am

    I’m still working on the priorities “thingo” – my problem is that I tend to get the paid necessities (marking, programming, resources etc) done and the living necessities such as cooking done but somehow I find it all too easy to de-prioritise the cleaning chores … and now Easter is almost here and the family is coming and …yep ..I think this sounds like a repeat of my Christmas saga too.

  2. Cheryl said,

    March 25, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Phew. I’m glad I’m not alone!! Luckily for me, deadlines have another side to them. Rush, rush, rush, then relax, relax, relax. At least I hope that the relaxing part is on the other side. Just one more reason to “tighten it up,” I guess–as if I needed another reason!

    I hope all is well in your neck of the woods–we have spring flowers popping out here in Dover!!!

  3. Lorraine said,

    March 27, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Only 4 more work days until Easter and holidays! Our Easter celebrations started this weekend with Palm Sunday. Monday evening we have the Chrism Mass (oils for the year are blessed and given out to all the parishes) in the cathedral. We meet with the Simon’s bunch and my sister and then after Mass we have a great pizza meal together.
    Easter starts the Autumn school break here (we even had a little rain this morning!). First week will be marking, grading and programming for reports and term 2 as well as various appointments that I can’t get to during term. Then…. Dieter and I are heading over to Kangaroo Island. It’s a small island off the coast of SA – we drive down to the ferry departure spot and take the car with us to the island. I am really looking forward to the break. Time to relax, relax, relax. My plan is to be up-to-date with the school stuff so I don’t have to take anything with me. Kangaroo Island is amazing – breathtakingly beautiful coast lines and animals everywhere. Last time over there we had to stop and wait for a goanna to make up its mind which way it was going – it was stopped right in the middle of our lane!


Leave a Reply

