Disney-fied

Do television commercials ever make you cry? I’m sitting here at the computer, weeping, watching a YouTube video made by the Disney company. It shows clip after home video clip of families popping the news to their kids that they’re going to Disney! As if the kids’ elated reactions aren’t enough to turn on the tears, get a load of this voice-over narration:

Disney memories keep our children young in our hearts, and color our tomorrows with the best of our yesterdays. They sing to us whenever we need them to, and dance to us in our dreams…which is why they’re so important! And here’s the best part: your Disney memory can begin this very moment.

Follow the link a little further, and you’ll connect to an equally weep-producing video with this voice-over:

To all the memory makers, the ones who know there are only so many moments before the sword is passed [a boy pulls a sword out of a theme park stone], only so many mountains left to climb together [a family rides the roller coaster down a thrill hill], and only so many days before she finds her own Prince Charming [a costumed prince kisses the hand of a pre-teen girl]—so to all those who know that the best memories in life are the ones you hold on to for a lifetime, don’t wait! Let the memories begin at the place where dreams come true.

Oh, brother.

Help me out, here, everyone. Disney: the source for beautiful family memories or insidious purveyor of unrealistic, worldly ideals preying on the sentimentality of the future guilt-ridden mothers of America?

What do you think?

5 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    October 27, 2011 at 6:18 am

    Oh dear! The second one got to me…I never took my kids to Disneyland. They got to Dreamworld, Seaworld, Movieworld and Wet’nWild all here in Oz up in Queensland! Should I still feel guilty?
    I have an even worse thing to confess…I LOVE Disneyland. Have been to Annaheim – took me a lifetime to get there after being a “mouseketeer” so long ago. It was amazing and three days just weren’t enough.After that experience we’ve also been to HongKong Disney and Euro Disney. Now I really want to make it to Disney World in Orlando! But I’ve done it all without the kids because they had all grown up and flown the nest before we could afford to travel overseas. Do I still need to feel guilty?

  2. Cheryl said,

    October 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I said guilt-ridden mothers of America–I’m sure you mothers in Australia are off the hook.

    -C

  3. Lorraine said,

    October 29, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I honestly don’t know about that – the Disney hype reaches far and wide!

  4. Amy said,

    October 31, 2011 at 7:06 am

    I have much guilt about many things…thankfully Disney Guilt is not one of them! Here’s to the memories!!!

    • scheirmad said,

      October 31, 2011 at 8:09 am

      I give you permission to “86” your other guilt as well! We can’t do much about the past, but we can dedicate ourselves to making a better future. (That sounded kind of cheesy., I know–but I really mean it!)


Leave a Reply

